The Death of Pugad Baboy Has Been Largely Exaggerated

Image

I’m glad that there are signs that Pol Medina Junior’s resignation from the Philippine Daily Inquirer won’t be the end of his long running comic strip.

I’ve criticized the Pinoy penchant for making a joke out of everything and making wisecracks at inappropriate times.  A look at Medina’s work, however, reveals why this is a necessary compulsion among Pinoys and I think it has largely to do with the fact that using humor to take a jab at something awfully wrong in society makes the critic as well as his criticism likable.

On one hand, the funny critic gets away with it by saying, “Eh joke lang naman yun!”

On the other hand, the joke spreads and in each retelling, pillories the subject of criticism over and over and over.

I don’t know if this is patently Pinoy, but it would seem that it is — given the Pinoy’s aversion to direct confrontation and dialogue.

Medina reminds me of another favorite comic strip creator.

When I was a kid, one of my favorite comic strips was that of Nonoy Marcelo‘s Ikabod Bubwit and although I hardly understood the full depth of why his strips were funny, it imparted some sense of what was being hidden by the Marcos propaganda at that time.

Image

I’m not sure at all if Marcelo formally passed on the mantle to Medina, but in my mind he should have.

