First time at Fred’s Revolucion at Cubao Expo

Cubao Expo

That the old Marikina Show Expo has now become an enclave of small bar/restos and a favored tambayan of UP people, NGOs, and journos somewhat escaped my attention tells a lot about how I have lost touch with the IN scene.

Not that I’ve ever been part of the “IN” scene ever (though there was that stretch where I went to Club Dredd a lot, but somehow that doesn’t really count).

cubao expo 2Anyway, about Cubao expo… Reminds me of the old Tandem Cinema back in the days when Shambu shirts, Khumbela bags, bla-blah shoes, trench coats, and mo-hawks… Perhaps, another way to describe it is that it is Dagon Alley’s food court, minus the British accents and dark coats.

Going into Cubao Expo, one of the first things that caught my eye was succession of curio/antique/garage sale shops.

cubao expo curio shopI’m engrossed by other people’s old stuff.  Old phones, crystal cups, vinyl record sleeves, old gizmos, pictures and whatever else.

There were at least two shops that had that and more.

If I had arrived earlier for the “meeting” at Cubao Expo and if I had brought a bit more cash, I would have probably carted away dozens of things which would probably have my wife exclaiming, “Why did you bring home other people’s junk?”

cubao expo curio 2Luckily, I avoided all that just by being typically late.

Moving past the curio/antique shops, I came across what was perhaps the last shoe shop in Cubao Expo and made a mental note to probably try having a custom made pair of cowboy boots.

Why? Well, you wouldn’t know it, but Pinoy Spaghetti Westerns and perhaps Freddie Aguilar actually spawned a small cowboy shoe making industry in the Philippines.  Which, in my odd way of thinking, obligates me to have at least one pair — as funky, high heeled, and baduy as possible.

It’ll probably go with my over-sized stetson, giant buckled belt, and frilly jacket.

Fred's Revolucion signage

Fred's RevolucionMoving on.  Fred’s Revolucion.  The place actually occupies two spots on the Cubao Expo Alley and my friends chose the one with the funky bar.

Fred’s Revolucion offers a lot of “native fare” served in a revolutionary manner.

Fred's Revolucion  bagnetThe bagnet, for example, isn’t just bagnet — it’s all the awesomeness of that slow-fried then crisped-up pork belly rolled in semi-sweetened balsamic vinegar and powdered with spices that’ll curl your lip like the Ajax lady in that Cheech and Chong movie.

The small jar you see on the left corner of the photo above is DA BOMB! Fred’s Revolucion’s signature oyster dish is the work of a genius, I think.  If you’ve loved ceviche or in local parlance kinilaw, Fred’s rendition goes beyond oyster ceviche heaven.

Regina, Fred, and hmmm.... I don't think I met the other guy.

Regina, Fred, and hmmm…. I don’t think I met the other guy.

I have to admit, I am still new at “foodie blogging” so I didn’t get pictures of all the stuff we ordered that night.

Peanuts fried in bagnet lard, Serendra II Tapa, chicken bbq, so on and so forth.

I didn’t get a chance to order mixed drinks too and finding out from their FB page that they do serve White Russians, I’ll probably start off with that one.

Fred's Revolucion  white russianOf course, it’s just as well because it’ll be a good reason to drop by there again next week with the usual co-conspirators.

And perhaps, I’ll be able to wrangle up a polish passport because I sure as heck want to see their famous pole dancing.

Fred's Revolucion  Pole Dancing

